Many people agree that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

It is considered by many that public transportations should be free of charge in big cities. Nevertheless, there are problems associated with it. This essay will highlight the positive and negative sides of the idea. To begin with the advantages, firstly, free mass transportation will encourage more people to commute by public transportations. This will lead to a decrease in air pollution and traffic congestion. Secondly, by taking public transportations, the productivity of commuters will increase as they will not be tired of driving and still be able to do other things during travelling such as reading a book or newspaper and listening to a podcast. Thirdly, free public transportation can reduce their spending as well. On the other hand, complimentary transportation will bring disadvantages as well. As the government has to cover all the cost, they will be less likely to maintain it properly which affect the quality and reliability of the vehicles. Hence, the citizens will not be comfortable using it and eventually prefer to drive their own. In addition, the government would cut other budgets in order to purchase petrol for the ride. This would take proportions of other essential sectors. For instance, they will have to spend less on healthcare and education services. To sum up, it is no doubt that free mass transportation would reduce traffic jams and provide clean air. However, in my point of view, public transportation should not be free, but it would be better to keep the charge as low as possible to attract people.