Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Studies have proven that some behaviours that had been taught through childhood might have a major impact on personality. Therefore, there is an argument for the level of freedom for youngsters to make their own decisions on daily matters. In my opinion, however, some level of independence would be needed if we want a proper future for them. On one hand, giving complete free will to children could become a problem because they would choose something inappropriate or harmful. For example, most of them prefer to have fast food or junk food as their main meal which might endanger their growth. In other words, they should eat organic and healthy food to absorb an adequate amount of vitamins which would not only affect their growth but also their health as an adult. Besides, they are possibly adventurous which could lead them to some unsafe experience in their leisure time that is likely to jeopardize themselves and others in consequence. As a result, there will be some serious troubles if youngsters have been completely free of their choices. On the other hand, allowing them to have a say at some grade is needed to learn important issues and gain confidence. This means they might not value some moralities such as responsibility if they have had not the opportunity to choose and confront the results which also affect their self-assurance. Nowadays, there are so many people who would be easily be affected by others because everything has always been chosen for them, for instance. Nevertheless, making some decisions in childhood would probably prevent having the same society in the future. To conclude, the level of freedom for children to make their own choices has always been a controversial issue. Although I believe that they must have the chance to opt but also be evaluated by their parents at some point.