Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. Other countries have no intention of doing this. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion on which side you favour.

Today, the harmful effects of smoking on direct smokers and passive ones who breathe cigarette smoke are well-discussed. Many countries have enacted laws to forbid smoking in public places while others do not tend to follow. In this essay, both sides of the discussion will be debated and reach a conclusion. On the one hand, countries that oppose enacting laws against smoking have got a dependent economy on importing or exporting tobacco -based products and cite that such products could greatly influence their economic conditions. Critics of passing laws against smoking point to evidence from countries such as Afghanistan in which the economy is massively supported by exporting opium annually. They claim that if the state warned people about the harmful effects of smoking on the health system and incremented the taxation of tobacco products, this would be sufficient prohibitive to their consumption and address the need to restrict smoking rules. However, those who support enacting laws on smoking tobacco promote the idea that smoking would have harmful impacts on the health system. So far, many papers have been published in high-impact journals highlighting how smoking would impose irrecoverable damage to infants, pregnant women, and children leading to the development of cancers, neurodegenerative disorders, and autoimmune diseases. Furthermore, proponents of limiting rules for the smoking claim that employees who are addicted to tobacco products should meet their needs every hour, thus inevitably leaving their workplace or could not efficiently concentrate on completing their duty. They are able to cite evidence from countries like China, where the government has set a penalty for smoking in industrial places and would sentence them if the offenders repeated. Overall, I would tend to side with the supportive countries of passing laws against smoking tobacco in public places like restaurants and administrative centres. It would be a determining decision that directly influences people’s health and, consequently, the economy.