It is observed that in many contries, not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? What will be the effects on society?

It is often shown that many students these days avoid choosing science to study in many nations. There are some reasons why this phenomenon occurs, and some negative impacts on society due to this trend. To begin with, there are several reasons why many students are unwilling to study science. First and foremost, science subjects are difficult to study. As there are many formulas and theories students have to learn and memorize, it is hard for students to understand science subjects deeply. In addition, students in today’s society regard science as an impractical subject. In fact, students who specialized in science, especially pure science, say that they have difficulties with finding their jobs since their career prospect is limited and narrow. Therefore, unlike other departments, such as management or accounting, science seems to be an impractical field for students. As a result, this trend can cause several negative impacts on society. Firstly, the workforce in the science field will decline in the upcoming future. Since the development in the STEM field or applied science is crucial for the country’s prosperity, an increasing number of students who avoid studying science can be lead to a weakness of native competitiveness. Moreover, competition in other fields can be oversaturated due to the decreasing number of students choosing science for their major. If students continue to choose subjects excepted for science just for their career, there would be excessive competition between students who majored in the non-scientific field, and this situation can result in a high unemployment rate. In conclusion, it is clear that the avoidance of studying science subjects would cause some negative effects on society. In my opinion, this trend is likely to continue due to the difficulty of studying science.