Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious problems, as well as practical problems.

Many people believe that living in a country where you cannot speak your first language brings you some severe social problems, as well as practical problems. I strongly agree with this sentence because living overseas brings people a great level of isolation and many obstacles. In this essay, I will discuss why I agree with this statement and explain some possible problems caused by it. One main reason for this is that living overseas often makes people feel isolated, especially for students who have never experienced staying overseas. They often claim the difficulties of communication with other students in local schools. For example, when I first came to New Zealand, I barely spoke a word of English. Due to my poor English, I was constantly stressed about being at school where the people only spoke English, making me feel left out from everyone. This led to a number of different mental problems and physical problems, which made me way more difficult to go to school. Furthermore, being in an environment that requires you to speak a foreign language brings some practical problems, one of which is a lack of cooperation skills. For instance, in NZ schools, we have quite a lot of team projects that require people to work with others. However, most international students who cannot speak English very well, often struggle to build a good relationship with other classmates. This often leads to the chance of students stopping to go to school. In conclusion, living overseas leads to some severe social problems and practical problems due to people's lack of language skills and communication skills.