In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some feel that the current global obesity epidemic should be primarily handled by governments. In my opinion, though the state has a key role to play, this is mainly the duty of parents. Those who argue in favour of this contention point to the power of governmental regulation. Governments hold this responsibility not just because their job is to safeguard public welfare but also because they are endowed with the authority to enact real reforms. In some countries, there are strict laws about the products that can be advertised during children ’s programming and their maximum sugar and fat content. Countries that do not have strong regulatory bodies to create and enforce these laws naturally have considerably higher rates of obesity. In an ideal world, governments would be more responsible for public health in this crucial area. However, since governments often fail to protect the public interest, parents should take responsibility themselves. Parents can best achieve this by leading by example. If children are not given sugary soft drinks, candy, and eat a diet constituted of mainly vegetables and fruits, they are likely to develop lifelong, positive eating habits. For instance, in nations such as France where food and nutrition are taken very seriously, the majority of children do not grow up addicted to unhealthy American fast food and obesity rates are lower. Admittedly, this can be difficult for parents from lower socioeconomic backgrounds who may struggle with finding the time, energy, and finances to provide nutritious meals for their children. In conclusion, the government can regulate certain industries but parents must themselves instil healthy habits in their children for there to be a meaningful impact. This issue may have reached a high point and must now be addressed.