Should education and healthcare be free of charge and funded by the government, or should it be the responsibility of the people to pay for these services? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Access to education and healthcare are two fundamental things that should be available to every human being. Some people believe that every individual is responsible to pay for it by themselves whereas others believe it is the responsibility of the state to provide these services. In my opinion I strongly agree that these two essential services should be provided and funded by the govenment as it will lead to equal facilities for every citizen and reduce their financial burden. First reason why I agree with the government financing education and healthcare is that I think lead to our societies becoming more equal across classes as everyone will have the same facilities. When these services are free of charge even the poorest of citizens will have the opportunities to get educated and access state of the art medical attention in times of need. If not then quality services will only be utilized by the rich and financially stable parts of the population whereas,the poor will not get any or will use sub-standard services. This will further increase the class divide. For instance, in many developed nations where these services are free of cost the population is much happier and the crime rate goes down. Thus I feel education and healthcare are two fundamental services that are a right of every citizen. Another reason why I believe that tuition and medical aid should be paid for by the state is that it will decrease the financial burden of citizens. When these two aspects of life are taken care of by the government, people will be able to enjoy their financial freedom and start spending money which in return will be beneficial for the economy. Many a time people are drowned in educational loans or are bankrupted by expensive medical treatments and spend the majority of life trying to pay back their debts. For example in the USA people are in a terrible financial position if they are hospitalized without insurance and lead a stressful life. So, to avoid such situations these essential services should be free of cost. In conclusion,state-funded education and healthcare will not only lead to an equal society but also will reduce the financial burden of citizens which may in return help the economy. All countries in the world should strive to provide these facilities free of charge.