An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the present day, due to the advance of globalization and technology, the number of online shopping has become increasingly present in our society. Although some people strive to maintain the tradition, others claim this trend is inevitable resulting in plenty of advantages such as the lack of crowds. For this reason, the benefits of this development outweigh the drawbacks. One of the main positive sides is the fact to be an activity convenient and comfortable since people may purchase online products at their fingertip. Moreover, this progress tends not to be time-consuming. In other words, due to hectic routines in this fast-paced world, many individuals do not have leisure time to go to the mall in order to purchase some items. For instance, according to research published by Harvard University, because of the pandemic, the number of online shopping increased by almost 75% in relation to two years ago. Another vital advantage is the prices that are much more affordable when compared with prices in physical stores. Furthermore, the variety of products is much more comprehensive. Take a survey carried out by The New York Times as an example, where the same physical store demonstrated to have three times more items in online form instead of physical stores. The more products, the more possibilities of sales which can lead to more money. There are, however, some disadvantages. Using websites there is no presence of sales assistance and if the interface is not user-friendly, customers will struggle with this setback. In addition, because of online shopping, the quantity of carbon footprint is much higher, therefore, the consequences for the environment are worst. For example, the distance of delivery is much longer resulting in more chemical gases being released. In conclusion, this method of purchasing is a trend with a plethora of upsides, however, some downsides ought to be taken into account so as to preserve our planet and also to create an online ambience much easier and more practical for consumers.