Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem?

Nowadays, most products packaging and containers, such as bags and bottles, are made of plastic which will be disposed of after use. It causes environmental pollution. This essay will explore the problem caused and suggest some solutions. Focusing on the negative impact, one of the problems caused is that people dump these waste products into the seas accidentally or deliberately which leads to marine plastic pollution. Since these plastic things are not decomposed by themselves, marine wildlife, such as seabirds, whales and fishes, mistake plastic waste for prey; most then die of starvation as their stomachs become filled with plastic. Therefore, improper handling of plastic waste not only will contaminate the environment, but also will endanger wildlife. To tackle the problem, the government and individuals should put effort into the matter. For the government, firstly, it should invest more in the infrastructure to prevent the situation, such as sanitary landfills, waste disposal systems and recycling facilities. Furthermore, it could launch an educational campaign to promote the proper disposal procedures to the public so that dumping plastic waste could be eliminated. Finally, penalties for improper disposal of waste, especially for plastic containers, should be imposed in order to stop the dumping of waste products in places outside of controlled landfills or waste processing centers. For individuals, it is very important that we should collect and dump the used plastic containers into recycle bin. In conclusion, plastic pollution is not only harmful to the environment, but it also influences animals and human beings, the government and individuals should co-operate together by disposal of the plastic things properly.