Some people believe the purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

One of the main reasons why education of people plays a very important role in society is that it will give them an opportunity to help other people. For example, educating people who want to be teachers is very useful as, once they graduate, they will teach other students and help them to have more knowledge. It will result in more people receiving education and that is very important. Doctors are another example. Their education is considered as very useful because they will be able to cure ill people and save many lives. If society does not invest in educating those professionals it can have a huge negative impact on the well-being of its people. However, I agree with those who believe that education of individuals should cater more to their personal ambitions. Many of us have different preferences and I think people can achieve more if they do what they like. For example, if they study what they want, they will have more passion to learn it and master the subject they study. This will consequently make them more dedicated to the job they will do in the future and enrich their communities with the best professionals. Also, if students learn a subject they do not like, they will not be motivated to finish it and it will be waste of their time and money if they do not complete their studies. In conclusion, although studying subjects which are useful for the society has its benefits, personally I think that individuals should be given the freedom to choose their profession, as their love for the chosen profession will give them an opportunity to master their skills and become the most skilful professionals