Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that people have different views about whether schools or parents should be responsible for turning children into productive and good citizens. In my opinion, teachers and parents are important in an equal measure. On the one hand, teachers play an important role in the upbringing of children. They usually work with a large group of pupils, so they must train them to behave sensibly and work in teams, all of which are useful skills in their future careers. Prestigious companies, for example, usually employ workers with interpersonal and communication skills that are required to work with others. Also, they are taught to respect the feelings and thoughts of other members of the class, which is an important trait to acquire, as they can expect to come in contact with people from a variety of backgrounds in both their professions and social lives. On the other hand, parents also should bear the responsibility of the development of their children. They are likely to be influenced by the actions and behaviours of their parents, as they usually try to copy what they see. Therefore, parents should try to act as positive role models for their children. For example, they should encourage them to help the other members of the society by attending volunteering programs together at the weekends or by simply informing them about the importance of nature. In conclusion, both parents and teachers should make their maximum efforts to ensure that children are capable of contributing something positive to society.