Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste? It is true that the amount of domestic waste recycled in homes is not enough. Some argue that implementing laws is the only route for governments to make the habit of recycling more common amongst people. However, I do not agree with this statement because I believe that other measures are also equally important. On the one hand, I accept that making recycling compulsory with laws could force householders to recycle more than they used to. Most people consider recycling as optional, therefore if they were forced not to throw away their rubbish carelessly, they would begin to give enough importance to recycling practices. This new legislation would involve introducing strict punishments such as big fines and prison sentences for those who reject to obey the rules of an environmentally friendly society. For example, by serving a prison sentence for 30 days, people could understand how crucial recycling has become. Governments could also implement ‘green taxes’ on people to encourage them to use recycling banks and reusable products. On the other hand, I think that other steps should also be taken to reach the optimal result. There is a well-established link between education and the awareness amongst people of the negative consequences of the throw-away culture. Those in power should be more initiative to inform their citizens about their detrimental effects on nature, and the methods they can use to recycle their domestic waste. Another way would be the addition of subjects that are related to recycling to the curriculums of schools in order to educate students, and advertisements should be used to reach adult citizens. Governments should also make recycling facilities more accessible and available by providing an increased number of recycling banks to segregate, trucks to collect, and plants to process homemade garbage. In conclusion, although new legislation could help to increase the amount of domestic waste that is recycled, other steps should also be taken to reach the optimal result.