Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some professionals argue that subjects that aim to teach pupils overseas languages should be included in the curriculums of elementary school rather than those of mid-school. In my opinion, I believe that there are more advantages of this proposal change than its disadvantages. On the one hand, there are several drawbacks of teaching foreign languages at primary school. Elementary institutes should put more emphasis on informing students about the basics of life, therefore subjects such as math, social sciences, and physical education are more crucial for their development than learning a new language. Many students struggle to adapt to the conditions of schools, meaning that they are already under enough pressure without being given the added responsibility of learning a new language. Also, the main aim of primary schools should be to cover pupils’ lack of vocabulary in their mother tongues, rather than creating new ones in another. However, I would argue that the drawbacks described above are outweighed by benefits.It has been shown that people learn easier when they are young, so they might find it difficult to acquire a brand new language as they get older. For example, especially private schools in my country introduce English to their pupils earlier, and it is clearly noticeable that such students can talk and write in English better compared to the others. Learning a new language also means that they are exposed to different cultures, customs, and points of view from the early stages of their educations. As a result, they are more likely to achieve success in their careers sooner, because the job market has become more globalized than ever. In conclusion, while there are several disadvantages of teaching overseas languages at primary school, I believe that benefits are even more significant.