Some people believe that there should be the death penalty for extremely serious crimes. Others believe that it is not morally correct to kill criminals Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Criminal activity in the world has significantly increased in recent years. Some of these crimes are extremely cruel and heinous thus, some people are of the opinion that these criminals should face the death penalty. Others believe that capital punishment is ethically incorrect regardless of the crime committed. In this essay, I will explain both points of view and will also state my personal opinion. Some people believe that the only appropriate trial for heinous acts is a sentence of death. One of the reasons for this belief is that these criminals should be exterminated from society for their terrible deeds as it is the only way to serve justice to their victims. Moreover, the possibility of punishment of this calibre will spread fear amongst citizens who wish to commit such deeds, resulting in a decrease in such felonies. On the other hand, others oppose the idea of capital punishment as every living being has the right to live irrespective of their actions and humanity does not have the right to take anybody's life. By killing someone in the name of justice, humanity itself turns systemically violent. Sentencing a murderer on death row, for instance, is the same as committing a murder for the act of murder. It is also argued that capital punishments do not actually solve the underlying problems which are leading to the increase in crime, whereas more focus should be given to rehabilitating such offenders and improving social services. In conclusion, I feel both the arguments have their own merits but, we do not live in a perfect world where rehabilitation of such felons can be done in a positive manner and for offences like murder and rape, the death penalty should be continued.