In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Youth is the future of every country. In some countries, students are encouraged to work or travel for a year after finishing high school and before starting an educational institution. This essay will highlight the advantages and disadvantages of doing. On the one hand, when advantages are concerned, the students get a free year to decide their career. When they start doing jobs, they learn about the value of money and become independent. Secondly, they can save money for their educational program. For example, my aunt’s daughter had done work in a library after completing her higher studies. Due to working in the library, she came to know about the different courses she could join after high school. After working for almost 6 months, she had taken admission in her desired course. When travelling are concerned, when students trip around the world or within their own country. They learn about communication skills and gather knowledge about the colleges and universities around them and can take admission in the course according to their preference. On the other hand, when disadvantages are concerned, doing work or travel after high school, can create a gap in education. The student will lag behind his/her peers. Sometimes students lose interest in their studies then it is difficult for them to gain interest in the syllabus. For instance, my friend who is fond of travelling lost interest in studies after travelling for almost 1 year in Canada. Now, she wants to become a tour guide. In conclusion, university studies are important to get a good job in future. A good job increases the stand of living. So, taking admission to university or going to travel or working somewhere varies from person to person. If a person wants a break from studies and wanted to explore more courses then he or she should do this otherwise it is waste of time.