Some people are making new friends by using socializing network website and Internet chat rooms. Some people say that this is a good thing. Other people say that people should make new friends by face-to-face chat. Discuss these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is hard to imagine reality without social media. A great number of humans assume creating a new friendship through chat rooms and social websites is very convenient whereas others oppose that individuals should hobnob by eye-to-eye meeting. From my perspective, people make new friends if they know each other. In this essay, I will support my answer with relevant examples. Initially, using social networks for setting up a new friendship is an extremely bad idea because of addiction. Those who practice social media a lot start to feel addicted to Facebook or Instagram. The New York Times published an article about dopamine addiction of social media and how it changes human’s life and attitude. To illustrate with an example, my colleague spent much time chatting and finding a new friends, and she realized that she became addicted. After which she quit all of her social media and started to make real friends, not virtual ones. Secondly, a face-to-face meeting is more guaranteed for long-term relationships. You have time and opportunity to get acquainted with the people who surround you and know their characteristics features. In this case, a new friendship will have a quality and will last long as you know the person whom you deal with. For example, I and my schoolmate are friends since school, we have a lot of in common to discuss and to do, we support each other. This is possible only when you have one-on-one cases. To conclude, although social media has brought some benefits to society, the drawbacks of overusing them is much more crucial. I strongly believe, people should make a real friend with a long-lasting friendship which will have more quality than making friends through network websites.