In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, concerns have been raised about the increasing trend of childhood obesity and its complications in many regions around the world. Although, others argue otherwise, however, some persons are of the opinion that authorities have a major role to play in addressing the problems which I completely agree with. This essay will discuss various steps the government can undertake in the mitigation of overweight followed by a reasoned conclusion thereafter. One way those in power can reduce the incidence of teenage obesity is by increasing the child's activity in schools. Accordingly, through extended playing hours and lesser academic periods, the pupils tend to burn more fat from their bodies. For example, engaging in sporting activities at a tender age helps to build a healthy lifestyle by decreasing cardiovascular risks. Hence lifestyle modification through frequent exercises helps to maintain a healthy weight. Furthermore, the government can enact laws prohibiting the sales of fast foods around the school premises. In other words, this will reduce the amount of fat consumption by pupils. For instance, statistics have shown that a major contributory factor to excessive weight gain among kids is fatty diets. Consequently, if they are not exposed, the tendency of becoming overweight is reduced. Lastly, awareness programs can be instituted from time to time to sensitize members of the public and households about the untoward effect of unhealthy living. As a result, parents are better able to care for their offspring. To illustrate further, caregivers are able to understand early complications of the disease when periodic talks by a specialist are offered through media platforms. Thus, treatment or cure could be achieved. In conclusion, countries are witnessing alarming cases of overweight among young ones which I believe those in the position of power can help mitigate through various measures highlighted above.