Some people think that the government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children, while others think it is the fault of the parents. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The opinion is divided on who should be blamed for childhood obesity. Although some persons are of the opinion that the authorities should be faulted, however, I believe otherwise and feel that caregivers should be held accountable. This essay will discuss both views in detail followed by a reasoned conclusion thereafter. On the one hand, members of the public who blame the government believe they ought to be adequately enlightened through educative media platforms on the risk factors and complications of the disease. As such, they are unable to make good decisions about a healthy lifestyle. For example, statistics have shown that the majority of parents only associated overweight and diabetes with the elderly. Hence, their offspring at a tender age acquires the disease without them seeking proper medical treatment. On the other hand, the influence of the caregivers in the development of a child is far more impacting, therefore, parents must have the greatest responsibility in caring for their children. Firstly, the quality of meals consumed daily by the kid contains a lot of fat. Accordingly, there is an accumulation of adipose tissues which result in obesity. For instance, recent studies have shown that most household meals in a typical Australian family contain excess amount of refined sugar and saturated fat which have been linked with an obese state. Thus, predisposing the child to overweight. Moreover, parents hardly have time for their kids and try to engage them with indoor sports like video games. Consequently, less time is devoted to exercise leading to a sedentary lifestyle and being overweight. In conclusion, the idea of who should be faulted for teenage obesity is still debatable. Even though authorities could be blamed, I believe guidance must take full accountability through various reasons highlighted above.