Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem?

In this day and age plastic has become an integral part of our lives, or rather, these are plastic bottles and bags. Millions of tons of plastic are used every day but these have a negative impact not only on nature but on living creatures also. This essay will elaborate on the impact of its usage and what can be done to mitigate these problems. Mankind uses 10 billion tons of plastic bags and containers per annum and this number is only rising every year. The main problem with plastic is its decomposition period. On average, the period of plastic bags and bottles decomposition is between 100 and 300 years. Moreover, the world's oceans are the largest "waste bucket" for plastic and there are many entire islands that are fully covered with polyethene pests. The greatest harm is that these plastic containers and bottles emit poisonous substances which is deadly for the fauna of our Planet. Another danger is that plastic will into the food chain and harm people themselves also. And another serious problem can be air pollution inhaled by humans. One effective solution for reducing plastic packaging usage which can be done by the government is to charge an additional tax for its usage or completely ban and give financial incentives to those who use recycled maybe paper bags. And people, furthermore, can help to solve this phenomenon by using glass bottles for drinking water or something else and using reusable bags instead of single-use polyethene ones. To put it differently, avoid buying plastic -based products because if there is no demand, there will be no supply. All in all, it should be noted that plastic waste is more harmful to the planet than we realize, and if we act wisely, this problem can be solved, but it will take a lot of time and effort.