Should long term job-seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work to give something back to society?

In order to live in a better world, humankind has to participate in some volunteer work. In this regard, long-term employees are considered one of those groups who are anticipated to be responsible for the community to express their gratitude for all the benefits received from the government. From my standpoint, it is not acceptable to make volunteer tasks obligatory for employers since it is employers’ right to get profits for long-term employment. Undoubtedly, Volunteer tasks require lots of sacrificing and spending time, which could be a disaster if it is not done by employers own will. For example, some workers could be sent to developing areas to teach children the basic requirements of life, though, when such tasks become mandatory, the quality of performance can be extremely decreased. In addition, there is no sense of empathy and sympathy when volunteer tasks become obligatory so the majority of the public does not approve of any help offered by employees. From the employees’ point of view, they have worked hard for all the years so they are deserved all the benefits coming from the government. Hence, if they realize that their employers do not respect their effort, they will never show any tendency to do their responsibilities at the workplace. Furthermore, many people have to deal with family issues ranging from children’s issues to a low salary. Taking into account this issue, their mental health could not be suitable for the volunteer tasks since this could put much pressure on their shoulder. To put it in a nutshell, with respect to the whole views mentioned above, although governments can encourage workers to do their bit in this world, mandatory volunteer work could have a negative impact on employees. Therefore, the government should arrange some campaigns to raise awareness of people regarding the importance of helping society.