People today can use the internet to learn about lives and cultures in other countries, so it is not necessary to travel anymore. Do you agree?

The Internet is the greatest invention of the 20th century. It is often argued that just by browsing through it, one can gain an understanding of other countries customs and traditions. I completely disagree with this opinion and think that human interaction is important in knowing people and its surrounding. First of all, travelling creates meaningful relationships. There's nothing better than the feeling of excitement of going to a new place, meeting the locals, and personally witnessing the way of life of the people around it. Things that couldn't be felt by just browsing online. For instance, watching Chinese families make dumplings in preparation for Lunar New Year online isn't comparable with the experience of a traveller who is in China and making it with the local Chinese family. Second, exploration of a new place gives more personal knowledge and understanding. Hence, it makes long-lasting memories. In addition, it also helps shape someone's personality and perspective in life. Moreover, not all information online is factual, therefore, it gives people wrong ideas. For example, due to the international media portrayal of China, many foreigners think that it is a secluded and outdated society when in fact, it's the entire opposite. For the past 13 years of me being in the country, I would testify how it had advanced technologically and slowly opened to the world over the years. In conclusion, I strongly believe that learning firsthand through travelling is necessary for knowing other countries lives and cultures because it's more worthwhile and meaningful.