Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem?

Nowadays, almost everything we buy is made from plastic packages or have plastic in its components. One of the main damage caused by the excessive use of this type of material is the contamination of the land and the lives of the animals. I believe that both, the government, and the population could prevent this problem. To begin with, plastic has in its composition major pollutants and its complete decomposition takes around 300 years. As a consequence, when it is in contact with the soil, because of plastic wastes, for instance, the land might be contaminated as in the plastic decomposition process a plethora of toxic substances will be released. Furthermore, plastic is extremely harmful to marine’s life as people usually use plastic bottles or straws at the beaches and unfortunately plastic's trash effortless goes to the ocean. It is common to read about the death of turtles caused by the injection of straws. In order to prevent the damages caused by, plastic some actions would be done by the government and society. Firstly, the population should take care of their garbage avoid disposal in inappropriate places. I believe that recycling is the most effective action to avoid land contamination. Second, the government should implement some laws about using plastic around the beach. I believe it would dramatically reduce the contamination of the ocean and indirectly preserve marine life. In conclusion, although plastic packages are useful to human’s life it is harmful to our planet, as it takes more than one century to decompose. To reduce this impact some actions should be done for the population which is responsible for the discard of their garbage, and the government who is responsible for creating effective laws about this matter.