The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organizations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, we all are enrolled with one if not more social media companies are that Facebook, Twitter, Google or even LinkedIn. All the data provided by us either during enrollment or through our actions and behaviours on the app are stored by these organizations. For the mass public, I believe that the disadvantages of this holding data outweigh the advantages. The primary advantage is that using this information, these social media firms create a personalised experience for us. This means that, the home page on my Twitter app is customised based on my interests and will not match that of another individual. However, against this, there are several disadvantages. Firstly, companies like Google are known to sell our personal data to other companies; which ethically is a huge violation of privacy. As a result, you would notice that if you search for an iPhone on google you'll find yourself bombarded with ads selling you an iPhone. Secondly, some organizations also provide political agencies with access to stored information. This is a very dangerous precedent and manifests into manipulating political opinion. For instance, Facebook is currently being investigated for selling information to D Trump's political campaign during the 2012 elections. In conclusion, I think the advantages are far too little to compensate for the advantages. User info must be protected and only used with consent.