Some people say that a special tax should be put on food and drinks with high levels of added sugar. Others disagree. Diacuss both views and give your own opinion

The effectiveness of tax on food and beverages with high sugar content is debatable. Some people believe that imposing a special tax can discourage unhealthy habits. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide reasons in favour of no tax on sugary drinks. To begin with, the consumption of unhealthy foods has increased in the last couple of years especially amongst younger children and the working population in their 20s. The most commonly purchased items in these age groups are sodas, energy drinks and chocolates. Adding a hefty tax to these items can encourage people to reduce their consumption of junk foods. However, this market is very sticky i.e. the consumers' behaviour is habitual in nature and thus very difficult to change. Such behaviour is also prevalent in cigarette smokers. For eg: In 2012, although UAE imposed a 20% excise on packs of cigarettes, the number of packs sold did not decrease significantly. In fact, middle-class consumers switched to low-cost packs with more harmful content compositions. A similar trend was witnessed with the Energy Drink Tax in Singapore. For this reason, an additional tax may not be effective and on the contrary could be harmful. To conclude, I think an excise tax should not be the motivator to infuse healthy habits among the population. Education can play a very important role in creating awareness about ingredients and nutritional value.