Tourism has become one of the leading sources of revenue in many countries. Do the advantages of tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

The travel industry has evolved to become one of the most prominent ways of generating income by various nations. In my opinion, the drawbacks of this clearly outweigh the benefits in a long run. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the same along with my opinion and will provide a logical conclusion. There are multiple benefits of tourism to the countries. The first and the foremost is that it generates employment as various locals of the tourist place usually get hired in this sector. Not only do the youth of a tourist location get hired by the industry employers, the elders also sometimes find jobs in this sector due to good geographical knowledge of the place. For example, it is quite common to see locals employed as guides, restaurant managers and in other job roles in this sector. Another benefit is that it promotes cultural exchange between countries. Since tourists carry the legacy of their country with them, they spread it amongst other people and build a healthy exchange by absorbing some from the destination also. However, tourism has a significant number of drawbacks as well.The primary disadvantage is that the local government has to invest a massive amount of money in the maintenance of tourist spots. This might, as a result, force the authorities to use the budget which otherwise could have been utilized in education, health or other sectors. Moreover, once a place is a tread by travellers, it is more vulnerable to pollution of every kind, be it noise, air or water. This, in a long run, might prove lethal for the residents in multiple ways. What’s more, active tourism can open doors to various contagious diseases which might spread due to the inflow and outflow of tourists. For example, the world has been fighting a pandemic for last more than two years which has spread largely due to the movement of people. In conclusion, tourism is an industry which has its own positives and negatives. Although certain advantages are prevalent, disadvantages, in my opinion, clearly outweigh those. Countries with active tourism must be cautious of them and balance them well.