The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Smoking is a well-known problem worldwide. There are many strategies and methods used in different countries to prevent smoking. A lot of research have been done to proof the dangers of smoking and its connection with cancer and other health issues. However, even with all this knowledge about health damage, people still smoke. In this essay, I will discuss problem of smoking and the possible solutions. Firstly, many people smoke even when they know the consequences of it. For instance, in many countries cigarettes have labels with precautions and list of possible illness that might be caused. Yet a lot of people still bye cigarettes and tobacco. Many smokers try to quit several times before they manage to quit for good. People know about risks, but smoking is widely accepted in our society, just like other unhealthy things. You can see a lot of people around and even movie characters smoking. Secondly, solution to this question is complex. For example, cigarettes might have high taxes, but it can result only in people paying more. To stop this trend, government should access the problem on all stages. One of possible solutions is prohibition of wide PR and marketing of cigarettes. The other one is to forbid smoking in public places. If smoking will be hard and uncomfortable, it will be more easy to drop, and harder for new smokers to start. To summarize, a difficult problem as smoking should be dialed on a few levels. Smokers should receive help and support while trying to quit.