Some museums have now started charging admission fees to visitors due to certain reasons. However, others say that museums should always offer free admission. Discuss both of these views and give your opinion.

There are those who believe that museums should have an entrance fee for visitors because of a variety of reasons. On the contrary, other individuals do not in favour of this view and insist that it should always be free for everyone. Museum staff are implementing an admission fee for them to be able to pay for the maintenance of the facility. For example, they need to cover the cost of manpower, electricity bill, water bill, and security system. Moreover, they said that it is reasonable to collect fees in order for the facility and the workers to survive. Furthermore, the collected fees will help them to widen the range of artwork, displays, attractions and upgrade their security and services to improve the experience and reach the expectation of the guests. On the other hand, some people are insisting that museums should always be free of charge. One of the great reasons for this is that many individuals are not interested in coming into museums in the first place, so adding a fee could further discourage them to visit the gallery. In addition, numerous of them proclaim that museums are largely funded by the private and government sectors. Hence, they can also solicit a fund directly from the public officials to help them provide for the needs of the facility. That is why it is clearly inappropriate for them to charge even cents from the public. In conclusion, there are various reasons to believe that museums should be free. Nonetheless, I do not support this view. From my point of view, they have the right to charge an entrance fee given the fact that they also have expenses in their daily operations and to keep improving the vicinity of the facility.