the best way to cut down crime rate is by building more prisons and giving longer sentences. do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, crime has become a major issue in every part of the world and it is believed by many that the most effective way to decrease number of offences is by building more prisons and giving stronger punishments to offenders. However, I disagree with this statement and the reasons to support my belief will be discussed in the following paragraphs. Firstly, prisons are necessary as they definitely help in controlling crimes. Many small-time criminals, if given stronger punishments, will be reluctant to commit crime next time and some repeat offenders, if kept behind bars for a long time, will not be able to commit any heinous. For example, usually, rapists and serial killers are given life imprisonment so it is best that they stay away from society. Nevertheless, finding the root cause of this chronic disease will be more effective in getting rid of the problem permanently. Often, most of the offences registered are due to adverse situations or frustrations which are induced because of inequality and stress. So, meeting up with the daily necessities of people, building more rehabilitation centres and educational premises will certainly decrease the pressure on general public. For instance, many developed countries like Canada, provide free basic education and medical facilities, have different tax slabs according to the financial status which certainly gives a sense of freedom and stability. This helped people relieving their stress and resulted in decrease in offences in the country. To summarise, cutting down crime rate is one of the utmost priority issues that needs to addressed and there are many ways to do so. Therefore, it can be inferred that though, prisons are necessary to keep criminals behind bars so that they can reflect on their demeanour but it is not the only way as discussed above.