Some countries are introducing an additional tax on drinks containing high levels of sugar due to the negative effects of consuming large amounts of sugar on people’s health. Should governments impose extra taxes to discourage people from consuming sugary drinks and prevent negative effects on people’s health or should it be people’s own responsibility?

It is argued that goverment policy to get tax from sweet drinks because it is unhealty for the people. Although i disagree that drinking habits is not only people own responsibility, I do not think get more money from them is the best way goverment could change their habit. Increasing number of tax for sugary drinks is very problematic, in one side it could be increase the price and make people difficult to buy it, but on the other side people who get addicted still tend to buy it and it will not stop them. For some people, the rise of tax make them very hard to get the drinks, because they do not have money enough to buy it. On the other hand, people who love the drink very much and have more money will not stop because of the price and still buy it while it still reasonable. For example, many people in Indonesia still buy the beer while the price is doubled increase. Thus, for some people higher price is not a problem, and could not stop them. There are some solution to make people stop to consume the sugary drinks, two of them is education from the school and publicity in social media. Some research show what people do when they are in school could affect their adult life, so education about which one is healty or unhealthy must be introduced since younger age. Social media is the big things in the current trends, number of people who see and follow the advertisement in social media show promised things, so publication using social media is a effective way to decrease people from sugary drinks. For example, healthy life like running and cycling during di pandemic have been very hype in the social media and can make people follow it in the real life. So, the proper education and publication in the social media could lead the people leave the sweet drinks and start the healthy life. In conclusion, to stop people from getting obese because of the drinks, goverment have to do more than increase the price because the problem is not about the price it is about their habit, moreover give them more education to be healthy using education and some advertisements could make them change their habbit habits