Some people say that a special tax should be put on food and drinks with high levels of added sugar. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Several steps are taken by the governments of different countries in the world to improve the health of their citizens. There are some people who believe that food products containing a high amounts of sugar should be taxed heavily to reduce their consumption while there are also those and so am I who do not support this idea. Both sides of this argument with appropriate reasons will be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. The first reason, I believe, the people supporting the idea of taxing sweet food products have would be that such foods cause harm to people's health. Many diseases are caused when sugar is consumed in excessive amounts and there are several products in the market that have a lot of added sugar to enhance their taste. A spike of about 20%, for instance, was observed in the number of people suffering from diabetes last year. Therefore, it is a belief of some people that consumption of such food products could be reduced among people if they are taxed heavily, as taxing them would increase their price hence would reduce their demand to some extent. Although on the basis of the discussion above it seems quite right to tax foods having the high levels of sugar, I think that this measure would not be helpful in solving the problem discussed above. What I mean to say is, it would not help in reducing the consumption of such food products that much. Those who like eating sugary food products would consume them anyway, there would be a little reduction but not that great decrease observed in the overall consumption of these products. In conclusion, charging food products having the high levels of sugar would reduce their consumption to some extent and would be helpful in preventing people from suffering from several diseases caused due to such products, but this measure would not help in seeing greater results.