Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Almost every country in the world has some adversities in their managing their investments in transportation facilities especially in the railways' field, however, some people criticize these investments and claim that the government should first take care of roads but others prefer to develop public transportation for the cost and the environment, personally I agree with both groups simultaneously. Critics believe that roads are more important form of transportation. firstly, most of the shipments are done with trucks on the roads and people use private cars to get to their destination. Secondly, nowadays there are lots of holes and dents on our roads thus, It is a necessity, to fix them as soon as possible, we speaking of a lot of lives which depends on this procedure. Government must be accountable and invest in regenerating the roads immediately. On the other hand, advocates’ priority is public transportation. First of all, we have to take a new approach to prevent the emission of all types of pollution, therefore, increasing the funds in public transportation such as trains and the subway to reduce the usage of private cars on the road which cause the most carbon monoxide in our ecosystem. Furthermore, It will benefit us financially, with an appropriate railway they can ship the vast majority of the goods to distribute in the country rapidly. Another fact is the expenses of having an automobile are much higher than trains’ tickets. Thereby investment in the railway system is more convenient for society. To sum up, the government should take responsibility and assign a budget for both of the systems to prevent any future disaster.