In many situations, people who break the law should be warned instead of punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree?.

The warning should be given to people, who break the law instead of punishment in certain situations. In my opinion, specific types of crime like petty crimes should be given a warning. However serious offences must have strict consequences. Individuals tend to do petty crimes with the knowledge or as a mistake. Punishing them will only waste the effort and resources of the government. Ultimately, wasting taxpayers’ funds. For Example, small offences like smoking in a non-smoking area, parking in a no-parking area or even breaking the traffic rules can be given a strong warning as they can waste money for the government in the court process. Then it is a different case when it comes to a serious felony. These types of crimes can lead to much bigger crimes in endangering society. For instance, when a serious crime like hit and run or assaulting a person is committed. The offender can develop an attitude or ego which can lead to doing bigger crimes because they think that they can escape from the eye of law enforcement. In Conclusion, the use of warning instead of punishment of offender in many situations is effective. I feel that simple and first -time offences must be given a warning, instead of punishment. Although much serious and repeated crime will not be tolerated and will be converted by law enforcement. This is needed because supervision of petty and serious crimes should be done as it can help the officials in preventing large-scale crimes either by warning or retribution.