Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many people can access various courses online because some colleges give opportunities the for Internet-based education to students. While there are drawbacks of long-distance education, I believe the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, there is the main drawback of online education is indirect communication. Students do not have face-to-face interaction with professors and peers. There is only a written form of communication and without instant feedback from the teacher. Unlike traditional education, online education does not allow students to exchange ideas, discussions and peer support. Therefore, they are less motivated and encouragement on studying. For instance, traditional classrooms give students a sense of unity and they can collaborate on projects. On the other hand, in spite of the above discussion, I think there are more benefits the Internet-based education. First of all, online education allows a flexible lesson schedule that is suitable for students working in a full-time job. Furthermore, mature students do not have to learn alongside immature ones, without any interruption. Students can speed up lessons to finish sooner by online education, as well. Finally, it offers anybody who is willing to study, regardless of age, location, background. For example, my uncle,who is 65 years old, enrolled on a course in an overseas university, before these times, he could not even imagine it because of the expenses of universities and the long distance from his hometown. In conclusion, although there are negative sides to online education, it became more convenient for many people because of the eases. I believe, it will be more common in the future.