Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

It is often argued that although wildlife parks safeguard the endangered species of animals, they are considered to be harmful and should be abolished. While it is significant to protect animals from being extinct, I believe that they should be living in their natural habitats. On the one hand, due to deforestation, evolution, and natural selection, many species of animals are at complete risk of disappearing from the earth. Thus, zoologists and professionals around the world are trying their best to keep the lineage of the endangered species to progress by constructing zoos, where they are conserved with utmost care. For example, pandas, the national treasures of China, would not be in existence without the efforts of scientists in the country. On the other hand, keeping the animals in captivity is inhumane and cruel for animals as they are caged in insufficient spaces to roam around. Moreover, most creatures are prone to starvation, various diseases, and distress at an increasing rate if isolated in the same place for many years. For instance, lions, which are regarded as the kings of jungles, become weak and depressed when they are chained between the iron bars. Hence, zoos are just a place for entertainment of people with the exchange of animals ’ freedom and they should not be opened again forever. In conclusion, zoos are crucial for certain animals to continue their life through thorough research and methods; however, most species belong to their respective habitats instead of being preserved in a small area, which should be closed down.