In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Even though many developments have been made to improve agricultural production around the world, there are still a large number of people who don’t have access to sufficient resources of food. While there are several reasons for this problem, steps could be taken to address it. There are different reasons why many communities suffer from hunger even in today’s world. The main reason is that the latest improvements and innovations are not applied to the many impoverished and disadvantaged countries, where food is difficult to achieve. These nations still use outdated and traditional farming methods all of which greatly decrease agricultural production. Another reason is that developed states usually take advantage of people’s most basic need to survive; food to eat, for their capitalist purposes. In this way, they are able to provide cheap labour. Many people in Africa, for instance, are employed by the biggest technology companies for very low wages in addition to difficult conditions and long working hours. However, there are several actions that governments and individuals could take to remove, at least mitigate, these problems. Firstly, governments of developed countries could provide expertise and funding for people in the need of food to implement the latest technologies and instruction about the new farming methods in order to increase productivity. Secondly, pressure organizations around the world could run campaigns to bring the problem to light and increase awareness amongst societies. For example, they could put pressure on companies and those in power to ensure that these ethically wrong actions that are against individual human rights are stopped. In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for the issue of food accessibility, especially in certain areas, but steps could be taken to tackle this problem.