Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

Despite knowing about the impacts of video games on children, while many people have access to computers on a regular basis, an enormous number of children play video games in an unsafe way. This essay will examine the main negative impacts of playing video games and possible solutions to this problem. The two main impacts of playing video games by children are behavioural impact and health issues. Playing video games in children can harm behavioural aspects of their lives. For instance, playing action and unrated games that are not suitable for young ages can make them aggressive and also it can lead to a number of diversions in their morality which can not be easily fixed in the future. Another negative impact of it that should be considered is a health issue. In this case, this issue has a close relationship with physical activities. While adolescence plays video games for a long time, their physical activities decrease. As a result of this, overweight and related diseases are expected. Some possible solutions to this problem are having time limitations for playing video games, choosing suitable games for their age and introducing alternative options for their free time. By limiting their playing time, their health-related issue can be controlled. The next step in fighting this problem is that parents must choose a suitable game for their children which will not affect their behaviour. Another solution that can be contemplated is that parents can introduce alternative options like books, sports and music for their children ’s free time. In conclusion, video games have negative impacts on children. However, we can significantly lessen this negativity by controlling playing times, choosing a suitable game title for our children and showing them the alternative options to fulfil their free time.