More and more people want to own items, such as cars, clothing and other things, that are made by famous brands. What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In modern society, people believe that having luxury products are a representation of social status. That is why many people want to buy famous items, such as luxurious automobiles, expensive watches or bags, and show off with them to their community. In my opinion, this is an extremely negative development for our society in terms of many reasons. First of all, famous brands are demanded since their prices are unreachable for many citizens. That way, the others who can effort to buy them show their economic and social status to their society. However, in today's world, people who can't pay the price for these expensive products get loans from banks to buy them and prove their status to their community. Sadly, as a result, they can't pay their loans to these banks and they get in trouble financially. For instance, recent research showed that every two of the five families in the UK are dealing to pay their loans back, due to buying unnecessary luxury products. In a nutshell, the ambition to buy expensive items may lead people into a lot of debts. The other reason to consider this behaviour as a negative development is that it causes extreme damage to the environment. Many famous brands use toxic materials instead of healthy ones due to produce their products quicker and cheaper. Unfortunately, these unhealthy materials are extremely dangerous for our atmosphere and cause air pollution. As a consequence, they also increase the danger of global warming. For example, according to a study, the heat of the World increased 0.5 Celcius because of these famous brands and their toxic materials. In conclusion, the demand to buy these luxurious and famous products is a negative development for our world and people as regards economic and environmental reasons.