Many doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly, but most patients do not follow an exercise routine. Why do you think this happens? How can people be encouraged to exercise regularly?

Most of medical recomendations for elderly persons propose daily physical activity, but only a few percent follow these guides. I think, that with ageing there is also appear some difficulties in developing motivation for coming out from own comfort zone. So, let’s try to find out encouraging ways for increasing ratio of active participants. Firstly, to do recommended exercises it’s required to win against all internal laziness and muscles inertion externally. But as it’s well known, once the first step on this path of muscles training is done then it will be more easy to repeat success. Also, sometimes older people just do not believe that any exercises could help them to feel better. This, for sure, raise a barrier in practice routine and affect motivation but could be solved with some inspirational influence. Basically, to believe in result and start doing exercise, it usually needs a small illustration or example. Thus, we can conclude on the base of this analysis that self-motivation usually is not strong enough for most of people and some external encourage required. Thereby, it will be more productive to organise groups to motivate each other or even dedicate personal trainer. But alternatively and with less resources it is possible to use virtual trainers like subscriptionable bots, as a separate program in mobile devices or additional service inside social networks. More than that, combining electronic trainers with training groups could lead to sharing achievements and results via some kind of leaderboards and provide multiplied involvement effect. Summarising, I can state that recommendations from doctors may be somehow attractive but it’s not mandatory so could be ignored by a lot of reasons. This way, to make recommended physical activity inspirational, there should be an external motivator added with examples, graphs, triggering events and social element.