Many people today used their phones to communicate by sending text messages than talking. What are the reasons for this? Does it has advantages/disadvantages?

Since the inception of technology communication methods has gone through drastic changes. Instant messaging has become a new normal and so common that people can connect with each other with just a fingertip. This essay will discuss the positives and negatives of this method. To begin with, from the early nineties, just when telecommunication started blooming, mankind has adapted quickly to new methods of connecting in real-time. Firstly, text messages are quick, convenient and instant, which provides freedom to both the parties, sender and receiver. Secondly, one can schedule a text message which will be sent automatically at a particular time, which has made conversing easier across time zones. For instance, for sending a message to my friend in the USA I used to wait till late at night, which I no longer needs to. Furthermore, it has many features by which we can express our feelings, like emojis, memojis and GIFs, just to mention a few. On other hand, as technology is a double-edged sword, it comes with its own drawbacks. With chatting, the communication gap has increased a lot. For example, the receiver might not acknowledge the message for long and that wastes time at both ends. Additionally, sometimes texts might not convey the exact message we intend to send and that can lead to misunderstandings. For instance, according to one study, many relationships nowadays have been compromised because of texts interpreted wrongly. To conclude, although, the rapid evolution of technologies have made life easier for society and taken away the hard and physical work, it has created many problems that were never imagined. Judicial use of advances invented for the betterment of mankind can be a way forward.