Nowadays some older people choose to live in the retirement communities with other people,rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years we have seen an increase in the number of retirement homes around us. Many old people now prefer to spend the rest of these homes rather than with their children. I strongly agree believe that it’s a development in the right direction. First of all, as people grow old they may require constant attention and care. This may prove difficult to their children due to their hectic work schedule and other added responsibilities. It’s also expensive to find a home nurse to look after the parents in their absence. The care homes are less expensive and they offer proper facilities and 24 hours care for the older people. Further, they also have doctors residing with them so medical attention can be provided for those in need. Secondly, most people find themselves more comfortable in the presence of their own age group, this is the case for old people as well. They can relate to each other’s problems and reminiscence about the past. The care homes also offer many recreational activities such as music, dance, pottery classes to engage them. They also provide yoga classes which helps them relax and lead a stress free life. For example, a survey conducted among old people living in care homes and family found that the one’s residing in the homes stay positive, happy and more energetic than the latter. Nevertheless, government institutions should see to it that they are not exploited or deprived of their rights. In conclusion, I believe that its beneficial for the old people to leave in retirement homes as they offer more attention and facilities than their own homes. Proper monitoring should be done by the families as well as the government institutions in charge.