Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

There is a widely held perception in many parts of our planet that illiteracy rate is one of the alarming issues especially less affluent ones these days. There seem to be two main causes and two key effects, which we will discuss here. From my perspective, the most widely-observed factor is the lack of education caused by not enough education facilities in relation to the population’s size. It is notable that scarcity of schools or even class rooms has resulted many school age children stopped going to schools. Another well-known cause is a family financial constraint which resulted restraining children to pursue higher education as such youngsters start working to support their families financially as soon as they can. The effects of this problem on people and society can be quite shocking. Admittedly, the most depressing effects of an illiteracy and severe impact would be the high unemployment rate, as many young adults are uneducated and have few job opportunities. The ever- present danger of illiteracy may potentially lead to such youngsters being tempted to get involved in petty crimes such as shoplifting and bag-snatching that further crime rate may in rise. Finally, there is a long-term impact that countries would face is the shortage of well-educated human resources which may weaken the country economy and development. These exacerbates human development factors. In conclusion, the main causes of illiteracy substantially relate to education system and families’ income status, whereas the impacts are seen in high rate of joblessness rate and slow economic growth.