Literacy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on people concerned and on society as whole?

Being incapable of reading and writing has been an alarm for many nations around the world. There seems to be two main causes and effects, which will discuss here. Perhaps, the main cause involves poverty or cost-of-living. Although most schools are government subsidized in most counties, eradication of illiteracy do not make significant progress. Examples can be seen from case studies, conducted in African countries where even public schools are available, children prefer to labour in order to feed themselves. Another well-known cause is uneducated parents. Educating children not only depends on educators but also parents. Numerous studies show that unschooled parents do not encourage or care to get educated. The effects of this problem on community and individual can be quite serious. Firstly, discrimination and unfair wage on job market could be main effect of illiteracy. In these days, most of job positions require degree in a specific field. However, those who master at performing without literacy left behind at lowest wages or being incapable of managing their income. Furthermore, a further widely-observed impact is human right violation because illiteracy makes individual vulnerable by depending on someone who could use him or her as a slave such cases usually observed in some south asian countries. Overall, poverty and lack of education of parents seem to be the main causes, and they affect human right situation.