Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Most people go shopping to provide their essential needs. However, by growing a wide range of supermarkets with different products, some individuals go shopping only for spending their time. We discuss whether this habit thrives the economy or provokes consumerism. Moreover, we argue some great positive impacts of growing trends on people or society. First of all, shopping has always been delightful in our lives. For example, if I want to spend my free time, the first solution will be shopping malls. I love wandering in some electronic hypermarkets, and looking for some up-to-date gadgets, which are newly introduced ones. Therefore, according to different interests, there are some specific shops where people can choose their desired goods. More importantly, since the more they have access to a wide variety of products, the more they will buy their loved ones. Additionally, to mention the drawback of this trend, almost everyone nowadays has access to social media. Hence, they can be easily influenced by celebrities, which encourage individuals to buy more products. As a result, our desire to buy on one side, and the effects of those influencers, on the other side, can make our society a consumer, which has its own problems. Having said that, one of the most important factors to evaluate the economy of a country is the power of people to buy their needs. Whenever people can spend money on different things, they actually help the economy to grow substantially. Therefore, it has dire consequences such as employment. To conclude, although consumerism is a possible negative impact of extremist shopping, this habit can help the economy to grow significantly.