In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that online meeting is used more often than in-person meetings in a lot of offices. While I believe that online communication does not have the human to human interaction, I also think that it is convenient and easily accessible. I am of the opinion that although there are disadvantages, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. First of all, meetings from online would not cause great interpersonal relationships compared with in-person meetings. During a face to face meeting, people would share and discuss about the concerning topics and bond with each other. They may even go to after-work dinner where they will talk about their work problems, have fun and have a good time, thus strengthening their interpersonal relationships. A research has found that 50% of employees do not feel close to their co-workers when they are working from home or from online. On the contrary, working online is less time-consuming and convenient because it is easily accessible from any place around the world. For instance, my uncle who is in America can do meetings online concerning with projects in Singapore without physically coming to Singapore. Moreover, if a person is working online, he will save transportation fees and commute time. A study has found that during the pandemic, 80% of workers have more time to spend with their families as people have to work from home and do not need to commute during peak hours. In conclusion, although online communication has drawbacks regarding interpersonal relationships, I believe that the pros far outweigh the cons because not only it saves money but also it is convenient and time-saving.