What are some of these changes in family structure and roles? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

In recent years, there have been substantial changes in family structure and roles, including women ’s responsibilities and size of families. Some people think these developments have more advantages while others believe they will have an adverse effect on society. Personally, I reckon that these social transformations would benefit people’s lives. Currently, women ’s roles have changed. It is the fact that in the past, most women were housewives–doing domestic duties and looking after their children all day. However, today most women focus on their working lives more than household chores; some stay single and dedicate their time to climbing their corporate ladder. This change in women ’s role has also contributed to the change in family structure. Unlike the past, in which big families are the majority, today most families become smaller. This little family consists of only parents and children, and in some cases, there are only a wife and a husband. Their relatives like grandparents stay in other places and meet other extended families only in some festivals. With respect to consequences from above changes, there would be an advantage to women who are widely accepted in their careers. As people thought women must be housewives in the past, important positions in many organizations would be only for men, leading to less earnings and less career growth. Nowadays, women however could move up the ladder to higher-responsible roles and get more income than men if they have a great performance. In addition to the women ’s role, the change in size of the family is a positive development because it would lead to better financial status of the family. It is common if there are fewer family members, less consumer spendings on necessities such as housing, foods, education, and medicines. Therefore, the family could have more savings, and they could spend on what they want. In conclusion, the role of women in the family and the smaller family’s size are key current social transformations for us. From my perspective, these lead to less inequality in women ’s working life and better financial conditions, which would be positive for most people.