In the past, when students pursued a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In the olden days, students who were pursuing a graduate degree studied in their native countries. However, in recent times, they have had many opportunities to pursue their education in a foreign nation. This essay will discuss the positive and negative aspects of this development. To begin with, the primary advantage of studying abroad is that students get better exposure. When young adults go abroad for their higher education, they are exposed to diverse cultures and traditions. Consequently, they will be aware of different situations and grow as independent individuals. Secondly, another important merit of this approach is increased responsibility. Students have to handle every situation all by themselves. For example, children studying in a foreign country far away from their parents have to do all their daily chores without help and this will impact their growth and they will become more responsible. On the contrary, there are a few downsides to studying abroad. Homesickness and semantic barriers are a few demerits. Although students will have tremendous exposure to various cultures, a lot of problems might arise because of the language barriers. For instance, If a person studies in an unfamiliar country then they might face many obstacles in settling in that country. This will affect the student's academic scores. Furthermore, as they are living away from their family, they might develop a state of loneliness and they end up becoming homesick. In conclusion, studying in a foreign place has its own merits and demerits. Graduating in a new atmosphere with various customs might aid them to inculcate new things and become better citizens. On the other hand, this may also affect the student's mindset for the reason that they are living separately from their loved ones.