Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that the advent of foreign investments in supermarkets has posed a serious threat to domestic business, and that will result in the end of local residents. In my opinion, I do not agree with this point of view. The first reason is that local consumers might be able to gain access to a variety of exotic products from oversea brands in supermarkets. It can be explained by the fact that local enterprises sometimes fail to provide customers with intriguing products. In addition, their portfolios are not various as they do not invest money in research and development. For that reason, consumers do not find domestic brands appealing anymore so they will look for something worth their money. Imported goods in supermarkets, on the other hand, draw their attention and people can purchase a wider array of products ranging from cosmetics, electronic devices or even sweets. The second reason is that local companies can capture this opportunity to become business partners with foreign brands. It is undeniable that firms in the host country are aware of their customer demands so they know what people yearn for to analyze and come up with suitable products. To be more specific, local businesses can conduct a survey about consumers’ preferences. The result then will be submitted to their business partner to work with their team in order to launch new products. As a result, both enterprises can meet their customer demands and boost their sale. In conclusion, globalization might bring obstacles to local business but it unfolds the future for local companies to expand their reach into the new business as well as satisfy customer shopping needs.