Many people use social media every day to get in touch with others and news events. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

In the digital age, social media is closely intertwined with our lives. Checking messages from social media is one thing that most people do every day. Also, the young generation gets news information through social media, too.To me, the pros of social media are way more than the cons. I will elaborate on my view in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, social media provide a voice platform for everyone, there are many internet celebrities who have become famous through social media, and they get opportunities they transform their life. For instance, a beauty influencer called Charlie was born in a poor family. However, she has a great interest in makeup products, as a result, she has shown many makeup skills on Instagram and gradually became famous. Later on, she established her own brand and earned plenty of money. Moreover, social media has shortened the distance between people around the world. People from different countries get to know each other through the apps on their phones, this also helps eliminate the stereotypes of different races. Additionally, social media strengthens the connection between family and friends.Individuals can keep in touch with someone they care about easily even if they are separated at vast distances. On the other hand, social media also causes trouble. Firstly, people always show their best part of life on social platforms, hence the idealized representation on social media might cause unrealistic expectations of real life, eventually leading to mental health issues for individuals and societies. Secondly,social media can serve as a breeding ground for misinformation. In 2018, there was a diploma named Su Chi-cheng, he committed suicide after being bullied by a netizen. The trigger of this tragedy is fake news which has never been confirmed. In conclusion, while there are some drawbacks to the utilization of social media, we can overcome them by improving the community’s media literacy and the ability to think independently.The capacity of global connectivity and information communication is incredible. Therefore, I believe the benefits of social media far outweigh the shortcomings.