In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

Crime is a serious problem that leads to devastating impacts on society. Although the percentage of violent wrongdoing are reducing, the public still faces unsafe conditions than before. In this essay, I will discuss the main reasons for insecure situations in the community which are drug addiction and unemployment resulting in more felonies and also the best possible solutions are rehabilitation and employment opportunities for criminals who finished their jail sentence period. Drug addiction is a major threat faced by many countries. Even though many people are aware of its dangerous and life-threatening effects, they still fall for it. In addition, it may lead to smaller breaches. For instance, addicts develop certain negative behaviours like stealing or robbing to fund their addiction. Another major factor is the lack of employment. Although, after completing the punishment period in prison, they are left with no employment so there are more chances to commit crime again. Therefore addiction to drugs and the inability to find a job directly impacts the crime rates in society. To overcome drug addiction and unemployment concerns the criminals who are facing jail time should undergo vigorous rehabilitation programs like alcohol rehabilitation and also they should be encouraged to involve themselves to study a Course or learn a skill that help them to attract job opportunities in future. For instance, the Government of Sweden offers free tuition for their prisoners who are willing to pursue education. Thus, rehabilitation programs and skills to develop employment opportunities in jail may drastically reduce even minor crimes in society. In conclusion, in spite of a reduction in the serious crime rate people still feels unprotected. This essay discussed how drug addiction and unemployment of ex-felony leads to smaller crimes. This essay also suggested the solution to this issue are to provide drug rehabilitation and training to obtain a job while serving in lockup.