Some people think that governments should spend more money on sports facilities for top athletes. others argue that this money should be spent for sports facilities for ordinary people. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Nowadays there is much controversy over the way of using the budget that the government specifies for the sport. Some suggest this money should be invested into professional athletes while others argue that ordinary people are the ones who deserve to take benefit of this money. Although it is noteworthy to bear in mind that athletes have brought their countries a lot of accomplishments and should be respected, I agree with the latter view. I will discuss the rationales behind my belief in this essay. First, public health and safety are two subjects that need to be located above all for each government. These two goals can not be achieved for all of a country's residents unless their government invests properly in the means that promote them and one of the most blatant ways to be healthy is doing sports. For example, the government has been providing an area in every neighbourhood for the local people to exercise in the last decade where not only do their constructions need money but also guaranteeing their safety needs considerable budget. Consequently, each human's health should be valuable for the countries' leaders and it will be plausible only by appropriate investment. Second, athletes around the world are being sponsored by private companies. For years governmental administrations had been viewed as the most responsible authorities to provide an essential environment for athletes to grow but big companies are replacing them recently. For instance, Nike has been sponsoring a lot of sportsmen on their way to world competitions. These companies have never shown any interest in investing in public sports facilities whereas their competition is to sponsor professional ones. To sum up, the government as the most responsible authority in the country has a duty to support either ordinary or professional sportsmen. I believe its responsibility toward ordinary people is much greater because public health depends on it and the ones whose professional careers are sports are being supported by private investors.